TNOA > About us > History


Tamilnadu Orthopaedic Association

The TNOA was inagurated on 23.12.1970 by Prof. Robert Roaf, M.A., M.Ch(orth), FRCS(Edin), FRCS(Eng) then Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, University of Liverpool.

Prof.M.Natarajan,B.A, M.B., M.Ch(Orth), FRCS(Eng) was elected as the First President of the Association and Dr.A.Mohandass was the First Secretary cum Treasurer.

Later Prof.T.K.Shanmuga Sundaram, Prof.S.Soundarapandian, Prof.Basheer Ahmed and Prof.A.Subramaniam occupied the honoured chair of the President of the Association.

In the earlier years the association conducted two meetings in a year and subsequently it was converted in to annual meeting. In 1991 the Association celebrated its Silver Jubilee. The first Dr.Narasimhan Memorial Oration was delivered in the year 1991 by Prof.M.Natarajan.

In 1985 an attempt was made to form an association of the Orthopaedic Association of South Indian States and combined meetings of the Associations were held till 1988.